Division of Pediatric Neurology, Department of Pediatrics, Gangnam Severance Hospital, Yonsei University College of Medicine, Seoul, Republic of Korea
© 2026 The Korean Headache Society
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0) which permits unrestricted non-commercial use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.
AVAILABILITY OF DATA AND MATERIAL
The data presented in this study are available upon reasonable request from the corresponding author.
AUTHOR CONTRIBUTIONS
Conceptualization: JHN; Data curation: JHN; Formal analysis: JHN; Investigation: JHN; Resources: JHN; Validation: JHN; Writing–original draft: JHN; Writing–review & editing: JHN.
CONFLICT OF INTEREST
No potential conflict of interest relevant to this article was reported.
FUNDING STATEMENT
The Korean Headache Society provided financial support for this project.
ACKNOWLEDGMENTS
The author thanks colleagues for helpful discussions while preparing this review. The author used Claude (Anthropic) to edit the language, assist in drafting background sections, and summarize the literature during manuscript preparation. The tool was not used to analyze statistics, interpret data, or generate original scientific content. The author has reviewed and verified all content and accepts full responsibility for the manuscript.
| Characteristic | Ubrogepant | Rimegepant | Atogepant | Zavegepant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mechanism of action | Small-molecule CGRP receptor antagonist | Small-molecule CGRP receptor antagonist | Small-molecule CGRP receptor antagonist | Small-molecule CGRP receptor antagonist |
| Additional molecular target | - | Measurable AMY1 receptor antagonism | Measurable AMY1 receptor antagonism | - |
| Formulation/route | Oral tablet | Orally disintegrating tablet | Oral tablet | Intranasal spray |
| Indication in adults | Acute treatment | Acute treatment and prevention | Prevention (US); acute treatment and prevention (EU)‡ | Acute treatment |
| Adult dosage | 50 or 100 mg as needed | Acute treatment: 75 mg as needed; prevention: 75 mg every other day | Prevention: 10, 30, or 60 mg daily; acute treatment (EU): 60 mg as needed | 10 mg as needed |
| Elimination half-life (hr) | 5–7 | ~11 | ~11 | 6–7 |
| Peak serum concentration | 117 ng/mL (100 mg) | 907.5 ng/mL (75 mg) | 740 ng/mL (60 mg) | - |
| Vasoconstrictive activity | None | None | None | None |
| FDA approval in adults | Approved (US) | Approved (US) | Approved (US) | Approved (US) |
| European approval | Not approved | Approved | Approved (prevention; acute treatment since June 2026)‡ | Not approved |
| Ongoing pediatric trials (ages 6–17 yr)* | Acute treatment: NCT05125302; long-term extension: NCT05127954 | Prevention (EM): NCT05156398; prevention (CM, adolescents): NCT06616194 | Prevention (EM): NCT05711394; prevention (CM): NCT06810505; long-term extension: NCT05707949 | None |
| Pediatric trial doses | Not specified† | Prevention: 75 mg, or 50 mg (two 25-mg ODTs) | Not specified† | - |
FDA, Food and Drug Administration; CGRP, calcitonin gene-related peptide; AMY1, amylin 1; US, United States; EU, European Union; NCT, National Clinical Trial; EM, episodic migraine; CM, chronic migraine; ODT, orally disintegrating tablet.
*Pediatric trials are ongoing as of 2026; NCT06810505 and NCT06616194 enroll adolescents aged 12–17 years, whereas the remaining trials enroll patients aged 6–17 years.
†Weight-banded dose-finding substudies are determining pediatric doses in the ubrogepant and atogepant trials; these doses have not yet been publicly specified. These investigational pediatric doses may differ from established adult doses.
‡In June 2026, the EU approved an additional indication for atogepant for acute treatment on the basis of the phase 3 ECLIPSE trial; in the US, it remains approved only for prevention.
| Study (year) | Design | Drug(s) | Indication | n | Population | Key findings | Limitations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tourlas et al.29 (2026) | Single-center retrospective study | Rimegepant (dose not specified) | Acute treatment | 12 | Adolescents; mean age, 15.3 years; 75% female; mean of 3.9 acute medications previously used | Attack resolution or improvement reported by 10/12 patients (83%); no reported side effects; no significant changes in height, weight, blood pressure, or liver function test results | Small, uncontrolled sample from a single referral center; efficacy could not be assessed. |
| Shin et al.33 (2026) | Multicenter retrospective chart review (3 centers) | Atogepant 30 or 60 mg daily; rimegepant every other day | Prevention | 71 (atogepant 26, rimegepant 55; 10 used both) | Predominantly female adolescents; migraine was the most common diagnosis; median of 6–7 previous preventive treatment trials | At least some benefit in 58% (32/55) of patients treated with rimegepant and 42% (11/26) of those treated with atogepant; adverse effects were infrequent and mild (mainly constipation, nausea, and abdominal pain) | Retrospective, uncontrolled study in a population with highly refractory disease; efficacy could not be assessed. |
| Na et al.12 (2025) | Single-center retrospective study | Galcanezumab (240 mg loading dose, then 120 mg monthly), fremanezumab (225 mg monthly), or atogepant (60 mg daily); each combined with stepwise lifestyle modification | Prevention | 10 | Korean pediatric patients with chronic migraine; ≥8 migraine day/mo | Median migraine frequency decreased from 26.5 to 14 days/month (p<0.001); PedMIDAS scores decreased from 58.5 to 48.0 (p=0.037); acute analgesic use decreased from 14 to 5 day/mo (p<0.001); no serious adverse events | Small, uncontrolled study combining antibodies and antagonists with a lifestyle intervention; the effect of gepants could not be isolated. |
| Drug | NCT number | Phase | Design | Age (yr) | Indication | Doses evaluated | Enrollment* | Primary endpoint | Estimated completion | Sponsor |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ubrogepant | NCT05125302 | 3 | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, single-attack | 6–17 | Acute treatment | Not specified† | 1,059 | Freedom from pain 2 hours after the initial dose | May 2027 | AbbVie |
| Ubrogepant | NCT05127954 | 3 | Open-label extension | 6–17 | Acute treatment (long-term) | Not specified† | 1,200 | Long-term safety (adverse events, ECG, and vital signs) for up to 54 weeks | Jan 2028 | AbbVie |
| Atogepant | NCT05711394 | 3 | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, 12-week | 6–17 | Prevention of episodic migraine | Not specified† | 450 | Change from baseline in mean monthly migraine days through week 12 | May 2028 | AbbVie |
| Atogepant | NCT06810505 | 3 | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled | 12–17 | Prevention of chronic migraine | Not specified† | 420 | Adverse events (through ~16 weeks) and change from baseline in mean monthly migraine days through week 12 | Mar 2031 | AbbVie |
| Atogepant | NCT05707949 | 3 | Open-label extension | 6–17 | Prevention (long-term) | Not specified† | 650 | Long-term safety (adverse events, laboratory values, and ECG) for up to 56 weeks | Apr 2032 | AbbVie |
| Rimegepant | NCT05156398 | 3 | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled | 6–17 | Prevention of episodic migraine | 75 mg, or 50 mg (two 25-mg ODTs) | 640 | Change from baseline in mean monthly migraine days during the 12-week double-blind phase | Nov 2032 | Pfizer |
| Rimegepant | NCT06616194 | 3 | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled | 12–17 | Prevention of chronic migraine | Not specified† | 200 | Change from baseline in the mean number of moderate-to-severe migraine days per month during the double-blind phase | Dec 2027 | Pfizer |
| Characteristic | Ubrogepant | Rimegepant | Atogepant | Zavegepant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mechanism of action | Small-molecule CGRP receptor antagonist | Small-molecule CGRP receptor antagonist | Small-molecule CGRP receptor antagonist | Small-molecule CGRP receptor antagonist |
| Additional molecular target | - | Measurable AMY1 receptor antagonism | Measurable AMY1 receptor antagonism | - |
| Formulation/route | Oral tablet | Orally disintegrating tablet | Oral tablet | Intranasal spray |
| Indication in adults | Acute treatment | Acute treatment and prevention | Prevention (US); acute treatment and prevention (EU) |
Acute treatment |
| Adult dosage | 50 or 100 mg as needed | Acute treatment: 75 mg as needed; prevention: 75 mg every other day | Prevention: 10, 30, or 60 mg daily; acute treatment (EU): 60 mg as needed | 10 mg as needed |
| Elimination half-life (hr) | 5–7 | ~11 | ~11 | 6–7 |
| Peak serum concentration | 117 ng/mL (100 mg) | 907.5 ng/mL (75 mg) | 740 ng/mL (60 mg) | - |
| Vasoconstrictive activity | None | None | None | None |
| FDA approval in adults | Approved (US) | Approved (US) | Approved (US) | Approved (US) |
| European approval | Not approved | Approved | Approved (prevention; acute treatment since June 2026) |
Not approved |
| Ongoing pediatric trials (ages 6–17 yr) |
Acute treatment: NCT05125302; long-term extension: NCT05127954 | Prevention (EM): NCT05156398; prevention (CM, adolescents): NCT06616194 | Prevention (EM): NCT05711394; prevention (CM): NCT06810505; long-term extension: NCT05707949 | None |
| Pediatric trial doses | Not specified |
Prevention: 75 mg, or 50 mg (two 25-mg ODTs) | Not specified |
- |
| Study (year) | Design | Drug(s) | Indication | n | Population | Key findings | Limitations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tourlas et al.29 (2026) | Single-center retrospective study | Rimegepant (dose not specified) | Acute treatment | 12 | Adolescents; mean age, 15.3 years; 75% female; mean of 3.9 acute medications previously used | Attack resolution or improvement reported by 10/12 patients (83%); no reported side effects; no significant changes in height, weight, blood pressure, or liver function test results | Small, uncontrolled sample from a single referral center; efficacy could not be assessed. |
| Shin et al.33 (2026) | Multicenter retrospective chart review (3 centers) | Atogepant 30 or 60 mg daily; rimegepant every other day | Prevention | 71 (atogepant 26, rimegepant 55; 10 used both) | Predominantly female adolescents; migraine was the most common diagnosis; median of 6–7 previous preventive treatment trials | At least some benefit in 58% (32/55) of patients treated with rimegepant and 42% (11/26) of those treated with atogepant; adverse effects were infrequent and mild (mainly constipation, nausea, and abdominal pain) | Retrospective, uncontrolled study in a population with highly refractory disease; efficacy could not be assessed. |
| Na et al.12 (2025) | Single-center retrospective study | Galcanezumab (240 mg loading dose, then 120 mg monthly), fremanezumab (225 mg monthly), or atogepant (60 mg daily); each combined with stepwise lifestyle modification | Prevention | 10 | Korean pediatric patients with chronic migraine; ≥8 migraine day/mo | Median migraine frequency decreased from 26.5 to 14 days/month (p<0.001); PedMIDAS scores decreased from 58.5 to 48.0 (p=0.037); acute analgesic use decreased from 14 to 5 day/mo (p<0.001); no serious adverse events | Small, uncontrolled study combining antibodies and antagonists with a lifestyle intervention; the effect of gepants could not be isolated. |
| Drug | NCT number | Phase | Design | Age (yr) | Indication | Doses evaluated | Enrollment |
Primary endpoint | Estimated completion | Sponsor |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ubrogepant | NCT05125302 | 3 | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, single-attack | 6–17 | Acute treatment | Not specified |
1,059 | Freedom from pain 2 hours after the initial dose | May 2027 | AbbVie |
| Ubrogepant | NCT05127954 | 3 | Open-label extension | 6–17 | Acute treatment (long-term) | Not specified |
1,200 | Long-term safety (adverse events, ECG, and vital signs) for up to 54 weeks | Jan 2028 | AbbVie |
| Atogepant | NCT05711394 | 3 | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, 12-week | 6–17 | Prevention of episodic migraine | Not specified |
450 | Change from baseline in mean monthly migraine days through week 12 | May 2028 | AbbVie |
| Atogepant | NCT06810505 | 3 | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled | 12–17 | Prevention of chronic migraine | Not specified |
420 | Adverse events (through ~16 weeks) and change from baseline in mean monthly migraine days through week 12 | Mar 2031 | AbbVie |
| Atogepant | NCT05707949 | 3 | Open-label extension | 6–17 | Prevention (long-term) | Not specified |
650 | Long-term safety (adverse events, laboratory values, and ECG) for up to 56 weeks | Apr 2032 | AbbVie |
| Rimegepant | NCT05156398 | 3 | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled | 6–17 | Prevention of episodic migraine | 75 mg, or 50 mg (two 25-mg ODTs) | 640 | Change from baseline in mean monthly migraine days during the 12-week double-blind phase | Nov 2032 | Pfizer |
| Rimegepant | NCT06616194 | 3 | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled | 12–17 | Prevention of chronic migraine | Not specified |
200 | Change from baseline in the mean number of moderate-to-severe migraine days per month during the double-blind phase | Dec 2027 | Pfizer |
FDA, Food and Drug Administration; CGRP, calcitonin gene-related peptide; AMY1, amylin 1; US, United States; EU, European Union; NCT, National Clinical Trial; EM, episodic migraine; CM, chronic migraine; ODT, orally disintegrating tablet. Pediatric trials are ongoing as of 2026; NCT06810505 and NCT06616194 enroll adolescents aged 12–17 years, whereas the remaining trials enroll patients aged 6–17 years. Weight-banded dose-finding substudies are determining pediatric doses in the ubrogepant and atogepant trials; these doses have not yet been publicly specified. These investigational pediatric doses may differ from established adult doses. In June 2026, the EU approved an additional indication for atogepant for acute treatment on the basis of the phase 3 ECLIPSE trial; in the US, it remains approved only for prevention.
PedMIDAS, Pediatric Migraine Disability Assessment.
NCT, National Clinical Trial; ECG, electrocardiogram; ODT, orally disintegrating tablet. Estimated enrollment figures may change while recruitment is ongoing. Investigational pediatric doses were not publicly specified in the trial registry at the time of this review.